MENtight left cropped air tint background

  • a-AP-resaved
  • SALISBURY-ONE-IMG 0447 910x500px
  • ALAN-KING-SADDLING-UP-IMG 8416 910x500px
  • a-TREVOR-WHELAN-resaved
  • a-Chelsea-Pearce-resaved
  • TIM-PRICE-BARBURY-18-IMG 4260 910x500px
  • NICKY-HENDERSON--ITV-IMG 6429 910x500px
  • GALLOPS-2-IMG 1513-2 910x500px
  • JONELLE-showing-NZ-badge-IMG 3612 910x500px
  • FRANKIE-SELFIE-IMG 0308 910x500px
  • GALLOPS-IMG 8783 910x500px
  • MARTIN-DWYER-IMG 0143 910x500px
  • a-A-YOUNG-EVENTER-IMG 4352-resaved
  • a-SIR-MARK-TODD-MCU-resaved
  • ERM-CHAMPERS-IMG 4985 910x500px
  • a-POINT-TO-POINT-IMG 3486-resaved
  • SHETLAND-GRAND-NATIONAL-2-IMG 4420 910x500px
  • a-IMG a3079-resaved
  • EMMA-AND-JOCKEY-IMG 6728 910x500px
  • LISSA-GREEN-IMG 3671 910x500px
  • a-Nicholson2-resaved
  • a-Nicholson-at-Barbury-resaved
  • a-NICHOLSON-BARBURY2-resaved
  • a-HORSES-IN-SUNNY-FIELD--resaved
  • SALISBURY-TWO-IMG 0683 910x500px
  • STABLE-STAFF-IMG 0946 910x500px
  • a-910x500-resaved
  • a-HOME-FROM-THE-GALLOP-IMG 8762-resaved
  • ALAN-KING-IN-PARADE-RING-IMG 1962 910x500px

Keyflow Stage1v3

Eventing: local Burghley champion lines up a trio to chase the 2019 crown

Tim Price & Ringwood Sky Boy on their way to victory in the 2018 Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials (Photo: Libby Law Photography/ESNZ)Tim Price & Ringwood Sky Boy on their way to victory in the 2018 Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials (Photo: Libby Law Photography/ESNZ)World number one eventer Tim Price leads a star-stacked field for the 2019 Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials in the UK (September 5-8).

Forty year-old Tim Price has three horses entered in the prestigious CCI5*-L class:  “I can’t quite believe that I am taking three to Burghley.  I have watched those guys do that in the past and thought they are a little bit mad and now I am doing it myself, but you can’t hold a good, fit and ready Burghley horse down.”


Tim has entered the 2018 Burghley champ Ringwood Sky Boy, alongside 13-year-old British-bred Xavier Faer and 13-year-old Irish sport horse Bango.   


But he’s picking his 16-year-old bay gelding Ringwood Sky Boy as the one to beat. The Irish sport horse went to the Rio Olympic Games with him in 2016, was second at Burghley (2015), fourth at both Luhmuhlen (2016) and Burghley (2016), fifth at Burghley (2017) and twice top 10 at Badminton.


Xavier Faer has been third at both Kentucky (2019) and Badminton (2017) while Bango has also completed numerous 5* events:
“My three guys are all feeling really good.  They are very much suited to this competition, so I am very excited about getting them there and having a good week. All the preparation has gone good and they are feeling great.”


He was looking forward to getting them settled at the event: “Then we want the weather gods to be on our side so we don’t have anything too crazy to happen in that department. I am definitely looking forward to it.”


Jonelle Price, who last year won Badminton, will compete aboard her 14-year-old Brit-bred grey mare Faerie Dianimo. The horse won Luhmuhlen in 2018, was second in 2015, has finished top 10 at Pau and also represented New Zealand at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.


Former Burghley winner, 46-year-old New Zealander Caroline Powell has entered her 13-year-old gelding On the Brash.  Another New Zealand entrant is 28-year-old Ginny Thompson aboard her 14-year-old mare Star Nouveau who was very impressive in the Badminton cross country this year and previously finished in the top 10 at the Adelaide 5*.


It will be the first 5* start for New Zealander Dan Jocelyn's Irish sport horse Blackthorn Cruise, and Samantha Lissington is a debut entrant with her 10-year-old Ricker Ridge Rui.


New Zealand has an impressive history at Burghley, laying claim to 14 titles, including a five-year stretch between 1997 and 2001. Andrew Nicholson has completed Burghley more times than any other rider with a staggering 35 completions, including five wins, five seconds and six thirds. He and Avebury made history as the only combination to have won the title for three consecutive years (2012, 2013, 2014).


Sir Mark Todd has also won five Burghley titles, with Blyth Tait claiming two. Great Britain's William Fox-Pitt is the most successful rider with six crowns to his credit. Last year there were three New Zealanders in Burghley's top 10 with Tim winning aboard Ringwood Sky Boy, Andrew Nicholson third on Swallow Springs and Tim tenth on Bango. 


There are 78 combinations from across the globe chasing the Burghley prize purse of £300,000. Included in the line-up are previous winners Chris Burton (AUS) and Pippa Funnell (GBR). Over the four days of competition, organisers expect around 167,000 people to flow through the gates of the historic grounds.



Print Email